Thermapen Reviews!

Don't take our word for it. Thermapen Reviews.
Independent Recommendations.

See how others review the Thermapen in books, magazines, product reviews, forums and blogs. The Thermapen has got to be the most written-about thermometer since Gabriel Fahrenheit first published a description of his thermometer. So, why knock ourselves out to write glowing sales copy on the Thermapen when all these well-qualified cooking experts can give you an opinion you're more likely to believe?

TELEVISION

JoAnne Weir Essentials
"Joanne's Top Ten Favorite Tools" (Thermapen is #2);
(JoAnne has authored many books and articles and has several PBS shows.)
http://www.joanneweir.com/favorites/essential-tools.html

Alton Brown's Good Eats
The ultimate "science-guy-chef". If you've been a fan of Alton Brown you've seen the Thermapen in many episodes of "Good Eats". Here's what Alton says in his "GEAR" book: “The best instant-read I’ve used.” (pg. 166) “The thermometer I use most is the Thermapen by ThermoWorks, and, no, I’m not paid to say that. …edges out other (cheaper) digitals… …faster than any other model… My Thermapen can take a clear internal reading on a wafer-thin piece of sole; cheaper models are very unsure of themselves if the food is less than 1 inch thick.” (pg. 167)

In addition to Good Eats, Alton Brown also appears as the host of Iron Chef America and Feasting on Waves at the Food Network.

Check Alton's website for his appearance schedule or foodnetwork.com for your local TV schedule for "Good Eats".
www.altonbrown.com

NBC Today Show
Today's Kitchen Summer Gadgets
America’s Test Kitchen host, Chris Kimball recommends tools for summer grilling - including the new Splash-Proof Thermapen.
today.msnbc.msn.com

CBS Early Show
Jazz Up Your Grill’s Fare, Chris Kimball Offers Tips, Gadgets, Recipes
Chef Chris Kimball from Cook’s Illustrated magazine appears with Hannah Storm of the Early Show. The Thermapen is one of his recommended grilling gadgets.
www.cbsnews.com

CBS Early Show
Summer Grill: Beef & Pork
Chris Kimball uses a Thermapen to test a pork butt while smoking on a Weber grill.
www.cbsnews.com/video

CBS Early Show
America’s Test Kitchen Editor Chris Kimball Shares Tips on Preparing “The Perfect Steak”
Chris Kimball shares his views on selecting the best cut of meat, how to cook it to perfection, and adds a few recipes that we’re sure you’ll love from his TV spot on CBS’s The Early Show. Check out the video.
Chris Kimball on CBS's The Early Show

America’s Test Kitchen and Cook’s Country (PBS)
Both programs are produced by the publishers of Cook’s Illustrated. We heartily recommend both shows. They frequently demonstrate the correct use of a thermometer in cooking.

ONLINE

Coastal Living Magazine
Cool Tools Slideshow “Thermapen. Grill meats to the proper temperature with no worries about under- or overcooking”
www.coastalliving.com/

Rainy Day Magazine
“Having the Thermapen definitely took the guess work out of determining whether the chicken was ready. We expect to be using this tool everyday in the RainyDayKitchen. We just wished we had found it sooner!”
First Look
First Use
SausageFest

iHeartBacon.com
“My birthday wish came true and I got a thermapen™. Yes, A THERMAPEN™. After screaming for a few seconds, I ran around taking the temperature of the air, the ground and generally anything that was soft enough to poke a needle into. The thermapen is ridiculously expensive, but the fact that it can take a temperature reading IN 4 SECONDS FLAT is truly amazing. It even came with calibration papers. CALIBRATION PAPERS! I love it more than anyone in their right mind should love a thermometer. I kind of want to carry it around in my bag and whip it out at restaurants. Okay, not really.”
www.iheartbacon.com/archive/260/gifts-from-the-heart

Cooking for Engineers
"As you can see from the results, there is no comparison between the Thermapen thermocouple thermometer and any of the others. The speed is amazing - about one second for a ballpark value and two more for dead accurate. Three seconds is such a short amount of time that the time it takes to position the probe in the middle of the roast is almost the same time it will take for the Thermapen to take a reading. ...If you only have space for one thermometer, save up and treat yourself to the ThermoWorks Thermapen. It's fast. Very fast. It also comes calibrated with documentation to prove it. ...The probe tip is very thin (like a thick needle), so measuring the temperature of a 1/4 in. steak is no problem at all. The temperature range is greater than most thermometers and it's also really easy to read."
http://www.cookingforengineers.com/article/95/Kitchen-Thermometers

Virtual Weber Bullet
"There is no better instant-read thermometer than the Thermapen. While other "instant-read" thermometers take 20-30 seconds to reach a full reading, the Thermapen is done in just 4 seconds! ...Can be recalibrated or repaired if damaged. ...worth every penny."
www.virtualweberbullet.com/resources.html

Roots and Grubs: Instant Karma
“The Thermapen lives up to the phrase “instant-read”: you stick it in, and it tell you the temperature in four seconds, max, and usually more like two seconds.”
rootsandgrubs.com/2005/12/31/instant-karma/

Kevin Kelly Cool Tools
“…once you've got one, you'll wonder how you ever cooked without it. The Thermapen takes all the guesswork out of the proper time to cook things. …this is THE best kitchen tool I have…”   -- Barbara Young
www.kk.org/cooltools/archives/000357.php

Charles and Marie
“The best of the lot, the Thermapen by ThermoWorks, is truly instant, measuring the temperature inside your roast in seconds rather than minutes.”
charlesandmarie.com/blog/epicurean_delights/?p=311

Nerd Approved
“…it’s quick measurements and easy to read display make it a little easier than most. This product has been around for a while, and they are continuing to improve it. …Almost all comments from users are highly complimentary.”
nerdapproved.com/misc-gadgets/thermapen-thanksgiving-gadget/

Nelson’s Weblog
"Usually high tech gizmos are a failure in the kitchen, but the Thermapen is an exception. It's a true instant read thermometer: stick it in the food, wait two seconds, and you know the temperature to within one degree.
It's expensive at $85, but it's so much better than conventional cooking thermometers it's worth it. The difference is it uses a scientific quality thermocouple instead of a cheapo thermistor."
www.somebits.com/weblog/culture/food/thermapen.html

Amazingribs.com: Meathead’s Hot Stuff Award!!
“…get a really really accurate reading right now. …the probe is thin so it will not open a gusher when you pull it out. The heat sensor is extremely small, so you know you are reading just where you put it and not a lot of the meat around it. ...the only probe I use for ribs.”
http://www.amazingribs.com/BBQ_buyers_guide/thermometer_buying_guide.html

Iliketotallyloveit.com
"This is the best cooking thermometer I've ever used. It's wicked fast… The temp sensor is at the very end of the probe, so there's no guessing whether you have it placed right. And there are no complicated controls to figure out."
www.iliketotallyloveit.com/Thermapen

Braisin’ Hussy
“I also got a Thermapen! These things are incredible. I mean, I have a digital themometer from Polder, but it takes like thirty seconds to read a temperature. This thing takes less than five seconds. It's SO COOL.”
www.braisinhussy.com/archive/2005_12_01_archive.html

Apartment Therapy
“Called the ‘Rolls Royce’ of thermometers…  …the last one you’ll ever need…”
www.apartmenttherapy.com/ny/cooking/...

Splendid Table Radio Show
"One of the things Cook's Illustrated magazine is known for is the merciless testing they do with everything from recipes and ingredients to appliances and gadgets. As a result, their recipes work and their product picks are reliable. Here are some of the gadgets the folks in their test kitchens reach for again and again. We'd like to find one of them in our Christmas stocking."
Cook's Illustrated Favorite Kitchen Gadgets

Expat Chow
"Yes, it's expensive, but it's so worth it."
(Several pix of the Thermapen in different uses, under the entry for Saturday, February 9, 2008)
http://expatchow.blogspot.com/

Dad Cooks Dinner
"The Thermapen Instant Read Thermometer by Thermoworks is the best instant read thermometer out there.  Many thermometers call themselves instant read, but the Thermapen is the only one that really is instant read."
http://www.dadcooksdinner.com/2011/11/review-splash-proof-thermapen.html

Oshawa Ogre
"I love my Thermapen! It is Super Fast just as advertised and it is so easy to use since there are no buttons to fiddle with."
http://oshawalaser.com/Blog/2011/11/13/thermapen-review/

USA Today
"America's Test Kitchens best instant-read thermometer: ThermoWorks Thermapen."
http://yourlife.usatoday.com/fitness-food/safety/story/2011-11-29/Give-the-gift-perfect-for-any-chef-an-instant-read-thermometer/51473068/1

Barbecue Master
"I'm really impressed with the Thermapen. It's super easy to use. You just snap the probe out, and the reading comes on."
http://barbequemaster.blogspot.com/2011/12/thermapen-barbecue-master-finally-finds.html

Embracing Beauty
"I consider this tool indispensable for anyone who wants to take their cooking to the next level."
http://embracingbeauty.com/2011/12/05/thermoworks-super-fast-thermapen-thermometer/

Three Kitcheneers
"This thing reads the temperature very accurately, and it does it really fast."
http://www.threekitcheneers.com/blog_post.cfm?BlogID=94

A Food Centric Life
"Every cook needs a digital thermometer. My choice is the Thermapen by ThermoWorks. It's fast, has a large numbers for easy reading and is splash proof. They come in lots of fun colors too. I have three of them!"
http://afoodcentriclife.com/great-gift-ideas-for-the-cooks-in-your-life/

Paddio Daddio
"I've had my Thermapen for a few weeks and it is an absolute dream come true. The thing is dead-accurate and reads in three seconds with pinpoint precision, thanks to its narrow tapered probe."
http://www.patiodaddiobbq.com/2011/12/review-splash-proof-thermapen.html

The Dutchess Cooks
"I've already thrown my old thermometer in the box for the flea market! Two thumbs up for the Thermapen! I'd say it makes a perfect Christmas gift, for everybody who loves to cook, inside the house or outside, so why wait??!!"
http://www.thedutchesscooks.com/2011/12/my-review-of-the-thermapen/

LA Weekly
"This was one of the hottest items at a recent Master Food Preserver silent auction, and with good reason. The gel point in jams and jellies can be an elusive beast. But not when instantaneous accuracy is at your fingertips. Reaching the magical 220°F is much less painful, easier on the eyes, and involves way less clean up than the standard, bulky candy thermometer. Plate test, schmate test. Trust us, they will love it."
http://blogs.laweekly.com/squidink/2011/12/top_5_gifts_for_food_preservat.php

KK Cool Tools
"Over the past few years I've experienced everything from burnt caramel to undercooked turkeys and overdone steaks because of crappy thermometers. Most were either slow, inaccurate, or both, and it made for imprecise cooking.
I left that all behind a few months ago when I started using a Thermapen digital thermometer."
http://www.kk.org/cooltools/archives/005979.php?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+CoolTools+%28Cool+Tools%29

The Kitchn
"So, what is a Thermapen and why is it so great? A Thermapen is a different kind of thermometer; it uses a different technology to read temperatures. Unlike cheaper, more traditional thermometers (which use thermistor sensors) the Thermapen uses what's called a thermocouple sensor. These are used in professional kitchens and other places where getting faster, more accurate temperature readouts is very important. The Thermapen condenses this technology into a relatively small thermometer probe."
http://www.thekitchn.com/a-93-thermometer-why-we-love-t-144840

Q 4 Fun
"The Thermapen is great for BBQing. The less you open your lid when cooking the better and when you do open the lid the less time it is open the better. The Thermapen takes a reading in about three seconds so you only need to open the lid for about 10 to know how your meat is doing. This translates into smaller temperature swings and allows your temperatures to stay more even for better cooking.  The thermapen can also be used for other cooking like making jellies, jams and candy."
http://q4fun.blogspot.com/2012/01/super-fast-black-thermapen.html?spref=tw

BBQ Sauce Reviews
"The Thermapen is one of the fastest, most accurate thermometers on the market today. It's a thermometer that's extremely popular for use by backyard grillers all the way up to competition BBQ teams."
http://www.bbqsaucereviews.com/review-of-the-splash-proof-super-fast-thermapen/

About.com
"The Thermapen from ThermoWorks isn't new but it is to me. And I'm so glad I found it."
http://easteuropeanfood.about.com/od/holidaysfestivals/tp/2012-Valentines-Day-Gift-Guide.htm

Kitchen Contraptions
"Just open the probe and the Thermapen comes on. Close it and it shuts off. No buttons or switches to catch germs, confuse you and cause errors. We used our Thermapen over the past weekend to test various brew temperatures in our coffee makers to seek a perfect brew. Temp readings from the Thermapen were almost instant unlike our older kitchen thermometers, and we loved how easy it was to hold and put away."
http://www.kitchencontraptions.com/archives/039680.php

Grilling Companion
"I really recommend the Thermapen. Again, the instant reading it gives you allows you to probe around and ensure that you have a perfectly cooked piece of meat."
http://www.grillingcompanion.com/thermapen-cooking-thermometer-review/

Seattle Times
"The Thermapen digital meat thermometer, for instance, is fast and accurate."
http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/foodwine/2017927222_outdoorgrilling06.html

San Francisco Chronicle
"...test the internal temperature with a British-made Thermapen. They're available in a Crayola array of colors..."
http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2011/11/27/LVJQ1M1A13.DTL

Esquire
"First of all, it's as sharp as an ice pick. It has a very slender needle, so it goes in easily. And it's digital, so it gives you an accurate read."
http://www.esquire.com/the-side/food-and-drink/grilling-awards-thermapen#slide-24

Food and Fire
"It gives you precise internal temperature readings in 3 seconds flat. There is no on or off button, swing the probe out and it's on (and yes, it was a hot one the day I got it).  The very thin tip slides right into the meat and gives you a reading at the center of the food."
http://www.food-fire.com/index.php/2011/08/05/new-toy-tool-thermapen-splash-proof-thermometer/

HubPages
"The Thermapen is the best instant read thermometer I've found."
http://pauledmondson.hubpages.com/hub/The-Best-Instant-Read-Thermometer

BOOKS

Still not convinced? Read what these well-known authors have to say (these guys have actually been on TV). These opinions are now found in the Library of Congress, not just the internet. By the way, these are all must-have books for your own kitchen library.

Alton Brown’s GEAR For Your Kitchen by Alton Brown, Stewart, Tabori & Chang, 2003
“The best instant-read I’ve used.” (pg. 166)
“The thermometer I use most is the Thermapen by ThermoWorks, and, no, I’m not paid to say that. …edges out other (cheaper) digitals… …faster than any other model… My Thermapen can take a clear internal reading on a wafer-thin piece of sole; cheaper models are very unsure of themselves if the food is less than 1 inch thick.” (pg. 167)

Dr. BBQ’s “Barbecue All Year Long!” Cookbook by Ray Lampe, St. Martin’s Griffin, 2006
“Another temperature-taking tool that I have become really attached to is the Thermapen, made by a company named ThermoWorks. This thing is the ultimate hand-held food thermometer. …truly accurate. …well worth it.” (pg. 11)
“My all-time favorite is the Thermapen from ThermoWorks. These things are the greatest. …you’ll love it.” (pg. 274)

The New Cooks’ Catalogue, The Definitive Guide to Cooking Equipment by Burt Wolf, Emily Aronson, and Florence Fabricant, Alfred A. Knopf, 2000
“…one of the most capable tools for home thermometry. Use it to measure the internal temperature of just about anything--… Another notable feature: every Thermapen comes with a hand-signed and dated certificate of calibration to ensure that each one leaves the factory in mint condition.” (pg. 14)

Chocolate Chocolate by Lisa Yockelson, Wiley, 2005
“The Thermapen Digital Thermometer is an elegant tool…” (pg. 66)

A Guy’s Guide to Great Eating by Don Mauer, Houghton Mifflin, 1999
“The best of the best…” (Back Matter)

The Cook’s Illustrated Guide to Grilling and Barbecue by the Editors of Cook’s Illustrated, America’s Test Kitchen, 2005

The Yellow Farmhouse Cookbook by Christopher Kimball, Little, Brown & Company, 2006

Baking for all Occasions by Flo Braker: Chronicle Books, 2008
“When I'm baking, an instant-read analog or digital thermometer is always within easy reach… I prefer a digital thermometer that gives me an instant readout so I don't overbake or overwarm. If you bake often, you may want to invest in the professional Super-Fast Thermapen instant-read thermometer, which gauges temperatures (from -58 to 572 degrees F) in just 4 seconds.” (page 40)

The Bread Bible by Rose Levy Beranbaum: W.W. Norton & Company, 2003
“A quality probe thermometer is ideal for taking the temperature of raw dough, baked breads, and myriad other items. The one I find most reliable is the English battery-operated Thermapen…thermometer with a range of
-50°F to 550°F…” (page 579)

The Best Slow & Easy Recipes by the Editors of Cook's Illustrated: America's Test Kitchen, 2008
“In the test kitchen, we always use an instant-read thermometer to determine when meat is optimally cooked. (We also use it to check the temperature of bread, caramel sauce, and candy, and to the test the temperature of oil when frying.) Our favorite instant-read thermometer is the ThermoWorks Super-Fast Thermapen, a test-kitchen workhorse that quickly provides accurate readings across a broad range of temperatures… The ThermoWorks Super-Fast Thermapen is fast, accurate, and easy to use.” (page 73)

Bouchon Bakery by Thomas Keller, Sabastien Rouxel, 2012
"The Thermapen is an excellent instant-read thermometer that reads high temperatures. It's our thermometer of choice and what we recommend." (page 345)

MAGAZINES

Chile Pepper: "Tech Toys" March, 2010
"If you're looking for a surefire way to check the temperature of any spicy meat, turn to the granddaddy of all thermometers - ThermoWorks' Thermapen..." (page 20)

Entertaining Magazine: "Classic Pinapple-Glazed Ham," May, 2010
"Years back, we tested a handful of the most promising, and the Thermapen, produced by ThermoWorks, easily bested the rest for its speed and accuracy." (page 18)

Fast Company: "Tools of My Trade" by Alton Brown, October 2010
"'I'm a stickler on temp control,' says Brown, who relies on the Thermapen, a high-tech thermometer with a giant retractable needle. 'It's superfast and highly, highly accurate.'" (page 96)

Taste of Home Collector's Edition, "Stuff We Love!" December 2010
"TOH Food Editor Pat Schmeling swears by the Thermapen. 'This is the best instant-read thermometer I've ever used,' she says. 'It takes away all doubt of whether or not the food is fully cooked. It's made me a better cook.' She likes it so much she bought one for all of her kids for Christmas…" (page 14)

Esquire Magazine Best of 2010: "The Alternative Guide to Holiday Roasting" by Francine Maroukian, December, 2010
"Test the internal temperature with an instant-read meat thermometer, preferably with a large, digital readout, like the superlative Super-Fast Thermapen (three to four seconds and accurate to within 1 degree…)" (page 50)

Cook's Illustrated and America's Test Kitchen: Holiday Cookies, December, 2010
"Sight, touch, and instinct are age-old ways to gauge when food is done, but for consistent results, none is as reliable as taking the food's internal temperature… The test kitchen's go-to thermometer for any task is the ThermoWorks Super-Fast Thermapen…" (page 15)

Make Magazine, "Toolbox," Volume 26, May 2011
"The tiny thermocouple sensor in the tip means that not only are the readings super-fast (about 3 seconds), you can check temperatures of even the thinnest of foodstuffs. Plus, the company's customer service is great…" (page 159)

GQ: "There's No Such Thing as 'Just a Dash'," July, 2011
"...buy a thermometer (we like the simple Thermapen)..." (page 62)

Shape: "Sizzling Hot Tools," August, 2011
"Neither spilled barbecue sauce nor spray from your kid's cannonball can thwart the ThermoWorks Splash-Proof, Super-Fast Thermapen, which gauges the internal temperature of your meat in just three seconds." (page 133)

Food Safety Magazine: "Professional Thermocouple," February/March, 2012
"Each thermocouple is traceable to the National Institute of Standards and Technology and includes a certificate of calibration with actual test dates." (page 62)

Today's Parent: In the Kitchen - What's Cookin', March, 2012
"This pro-chef fave is accurate even with thin, delicate fish." (page 134)

Fine Cooking: In the Kitchen: Bruce's Must-Have Grill Tools, June/July, 2012
"My ThermoWorks instant-read thermometer has taken a lot of abuse. It's designed more for a commercial kitchen than a home kitchen; I've dropped mine and gotten it wet, and it still gives me an accurate reading quickly." (page 34)

Sunset: Meat Master Bruce Aidells shows you how to grill a Thanksgiving Bird, November, 2012
"The fastest and most accurate is the Super-Fast Thermapen.." (page 90)

Family Circle: What's Cooking, November, 2012
"...the right stuff to create a memorable meal" (page 145)

Saveur: Essential Equipment, June/July, 2011
"Injected like a needle into the meat, the [Thermapen] takes an extremely accurate and quick temperature" (page 100)


Our Company


 

Gift Wrap

Gift Wrapping

We'll wrap your gift in our custom gift paper, trimmed with a bow and gift tag. The rich, graphite and silver combination is suitable for any occasion or anybody.

Enter a custom message for the handwritten tag (Up to 50 characters). Cost for wrapping is $4.99 per item. Each item wrapped separately. Selectable in the order info where available. Some items can not be wrapped.

Ordering more than one of the same item but don't want them all wrapped? Just add each item you want wrapped to your shopping cart individually and select the wrapping option. Add your custom greeting for each wrapped item separately as you add the item to your cart.